I Really Love My Mission!

Hello everyone,

This week was full of miracles!!! Best week of the transfer by far.

Thursday, We marked Ana for baptism on the 16th of July! She is so elect and is really feeling the spirit. She is a very happy and kind person and will really help this ward:)

Right after our lesson with Ana, one of Sol´s friends called us and asked to talk to us, because one of his friends had died. He met him in prison and his friend had been murdered in prison. This guy was pretty rough around the edges and is very lost. We were able to teach him about the atonement and resurrection. He´s seen so much in his life and he´s only ever responded by being bitter and revolting. When we started talking to him, his demeanor was very angry. He was listening to Portuguese rap music and crying. At first he didn’t really want to hear what we had to say. He was just so angry.  I felt very led by the spirit during that conversation. I felt impressed to say. “You’ve probably already said many things to God. Are you ready to hear what he has to say to you?” I opened the scriptures and he read Alma 7:11-13. Immediately, his countenance had changed. He was being influenced by the spirit. He confessed that he hadn’t been living a very righteous life. We invited him to change and offered our heart. With tears in his eyes, he accepted.

Unfortunately, he didn’t show up to our next appointment and we haven’t been able to get a hold of him. His friends probably gave him a hard time. Oh well, I just pray that he will at least have the desire to clean up his life a little bit. But I´m very grateful for that opportunity we had to help one of God´s children come a little closer to Christ.

We did a lot of walking this week. I wanted to contact in parts of Braga I had never been before. So we had to walk very far! (5 transfers and you get to know a place pretty well.)

We talked to a less active woman this week, who wants to come backed to church. She had been offended by someone, but she explained to us that she never lost her testimony. Her whole family went inactive during this time, except for one of her sons who is preparing to serve a mission right now. We will start working more with her to help her reintegrate with gospel living.

Yesterday, a lot of our appointments fell through so we decided to knock some doors for a while. It was pretty hot and we were very tired so we almost decided to go update some things on the computer. But instead, we listened to the promptings of the spirit. The first building we entered and the first door we knocked, answered a Brazilian man, who was a less active member for many years. It’s been 16 years since he´s last talked to the missionaries. He fell away because he had some doubts and he had moved to an area in the past where the church wasn’t very well established. He had lost his copy of The Book of Mormon, so we left him one and explained that it wasn’t by chance that we had found him. He told us that he was thinking about The Book of Mormon just the other day. He thanked us and invited us over another day to meet his wife and son, who are both not members. Those kinds of experiences rarely happen, but when they do it´s always because of diligence

This week, a returned sister missionary was visiting with her husband, who also served here. They met in the MTC. They had a baby too! I think she told me that she ended her mission in 2014! Needless to say, it kind of freaked me out a little. She was super cool. She’s English and he’s Irish. They apparently are teaching the baby Portuguese.

Man, there are so many interesting things that happened this week. I really love my mission. I love meeting new people, getting to know them and hearing their stories. I love helping people to understand the bigger picture and feeling more happiness in their lives. I love this gospel, and I feel extremely privileged to testify of Christ every day!

As most of you know I am now in my last transfer. I haven’t been perfect, and I haven’t always given my best, but I always try to give the best I know how. I love my Savior and I love this work. I just hope to be able to give my meager offering to the Lord with clean hands and a pure heart.

Love you all so much!

Sister Runyan

Leave a Reply

