Elder Bednar

Hello Everyone! This was one of the most interesting and exciting weeks of my mission.

  1. We went to the conference with Elder Bednar. It was really amazing to hear from a living apostle. You can really tell that he lives what he preaches. The main point of this conference was to show us a better pattern of teaching. We are to teach our investigators as agents and not as objects. As we teach, we need to be inspired by the spirit to recognize their needs and to help them answer their own questions. Elder Bednar is a master in asking inspired questions. He had a special meeting for church leaders as well and the bishop here made the point that he made little reference to the scriptures, because what he says is scripture. The unique purpose of his calling is to act as an emissary of the Lord. The pattern by which he teaches is truly inspired. It consists of addressing a certain topic then asking a question for understanding. After that it is essential to ask a question of application which allows the learners to commit to some form of action. I really needed to learn this because I realized that I don’t treat my investigators as agents. We can´t force our investigators to act; we can only help them to realize why it’s important. Overall, it was an incredible experience. I got to shake his hand and as we were leaving, I realized that this most likely was a once in a lifetime experience.
  2. Afonso came to church! He also invited us over to his house to meet his wife. I’m so excited for him; he is such an incredible person. He has a really busy schedule right now, but I hope he will realize the importance of making these covenants with the Lord.
  3. Haha. So I sort of fell yesterday. We were trying to find a less active member and I wasn’t wearing really stable shoes. Portugal is mostly cobble stone so I stepped wrong on my foot. I heard a pop and then I couldn’t walk on it. We asked the members to come and pick us up and take us to the chapel, but they thought it would be best to take us to the hospital. I knew it wasn’t that serious of an injury, but we went anyways. It turns out it’s just a sprain. It’s already feeling tons better. I’ll be back to normal in a couple of days probably.

Other than that, it was pretty normal.

Love you all!

Sister Runyan

Leave a Reply

