We Are 2/3 Through Our Missions

Hello Everyone!

This week was pretty great! Sister Parkinson and I are officially 2/3 of the way done with our missions. The elders in our district were super nice and they even made us a card. Not many exciting things happened this week. We´ve been really focusing on having great member relations. We´ve been making cookies and passing by people´s houses as a surprise. It´s nice to really try and be a part of every ward you´re in. I love it here in Braga the people here are fantastic.

This week, people have been booting up for carnival. For anyone who´s wondering, its nothing like Brazil. The only thing that happens is kids dress up in costumes like it´s Halloween. It’s really cute actually. But it’s crazy to think that Easter is only 40 days away. This week, we saw a group of people in Braga Park, with tiny Portuguese guitars. I took a few videos. It was adorable. After that, I decided that I needed one of those guitars.

This week, we had a lesson with Carlos that didn´t go so well. He´s not so into tithing and he´s kind of losing interest. As he sees that there are more and more things he has to give up and start doing, I think he is feeling more and more disinterested. It´s hard to help him see that these things are blessings. Because, the only way you can have a testimony that things are true is by trying it out first. We have been praying and fasting for him. I hope that the spirit can touch him and influence him to have a change of heart.

That is a really interesting thing that I´ve been thinking about. I think often times as missionaries we think about what we need to teach instead of how we need to teach. I know I for one am a culprit of this. The secret has been and will always be to teach with the spirit. I can´t honestly say I know how to do that yet. But I do know that Elder Bednar told us that we can teach with the influence of the spirit without knowing in that moment that we were being led by the spirit. In that instance the best way to know if we are teaching by the spirit is if we are worthy of the spirit. This is the importance of obedience and hard work. This principle applies in all aspects of our lives. We will naturally be led by the spirit if we are being worthy of the spirit.  I really want to help people on my mission; so in order to do that I need to be doing my part.

We had a pretty funny experience this week. We had a morning run and we decided to check out the nearby nunnery. We went through the front gate; because it was opened. We ran around the grounds for a little bit. We saw a sign that said exit that we thought would take us to the other side. We followed the road but the gate at the bottom was locked. We freaked out; because we got locked in the nunnery and we didn’t know if we could be there or no. So we kept looking for ways to get out; but there was no way out except for the way we came. It was quite funny. We kept on cracking nun jokes the rest of the day. Haha.

Today, we had a fun little p-day. First, I bought my earrings. They´re really pretty:) Second, we had cupcakes with the elders but the place was all full and it was wet outside; so there was nowhere to sit. We decided to go to McDonalds to sit down; but they kicked us out for bringing food in. I asked if we could buy something and they said no. (That sounds like a terrible policy if you ask me. you should never kick out customers.) So we ended up walking for like half a mile and we ended up in the food court of the nearest mall. It was really awkward. We also stopped in this tourist shop that had those little guitars. Apparently, they are the fathers of the ukulele. They have a different sound but they are the same shape. I really, really want one.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
Kendall’s Viana Heart Earrings

That´s about it. Love you all!

Sister Runyan

Leave a Reply

