Conversion: To Want What God Wants

Hello Everyone!

This week has been pretty good. Some of the highlights for this week were that we had our ward Christmas party. It was really cute. We had to do a play for everyone. Sister Nagliati and I were the bull and the donkey. There was a video taken. I don’t know where it would have been posted.

We had Francesinhas with Antonio. Francesinha is a Portuguese dish that everyone loves. To give a quick description, it´s a sandwich with just meat inside it that has been fried, covered in cheese and has an egg on top with a special sauce. It’s really heavy and normally I don’t really care for it; but the place that we got it was really good I actually liked it a lot.

 

This week, on Tuesday, was day of the mother. It’s the day they celebrate Mary. I don’t know much else about it.

Other than that, not many exciting things happened. The center of Braga is all lit up for Christmas and it’s really pretty. I’ll see if I can take a picture sometime soon.

This week I’ve been contemplating a lot about repentance and conversion. It’s so funny that I’ve never tried so hard to be good; but I’ve never felt this guilty. Conversion, I’ve found, is not a pain free experience. We can’t just wake up one day and be perfect. It’s about changing our desires. That’s the difference between the law of sacrifice and the law of consecration. It’s so interesting studying the Old Testament and seeing how often they obeyed commandments, received blessings, forgot and were humbled. In other words, this is the pride cycle. I think true conversion and living the higher law is meant to break this cycle. It requires that we follow the savior in every aspect, even his desires. We are required to want what God wants. I think often times what happens is that we obey out of impure desires and this is an example of building our foundation upon the sand. I can’t count the number of times that I’ve done what I was supposed to do but I didn’t actually want to.

The trick is getting yourself to want to do the things you’re supposed to do and to repent every time you don’t.

With that thought have a Merry Christmas!

Love Sister Runyan

Leave a Reply

