Conferencia Geral!

I love general conference. Hearing all of the powerful testimonies of the Savior’s atonement and the restoration of his church reaffirmed my testimony and witness of the truthfulness of this message. I felt so inspired and blessed to receive guidance in my life but also it gave me so many ideas on how to teach my investigators, and answer some of their more perplexing questions.

This week, our efforts have been focused on finding people. We are doing a treasure hunt of sorts, to find all of the less actives in our area, to invite them to come back to church. Thus far we have found 2 families who want to come to church again! We are also looking for people in the streets. Little by little, the Lord will start to put people in our path who have been prepared.

Something I’ve realized is that the gate called baptism truly is straight and narrow. It is very difficult for so many people to qualify themselves to enter. To find the desire to change one’s ways, there needs to be a testimony, but how does one gain a testimony without following the precepts of the gospel? I am realizing now more than ever that our power to teach and enlighten people needs to come from the spirit. The spirit is the only factor that can give people the hope and faith to continue forward in uncharted directions. Whether it be quitting smoking, coming to church every Sunday, living the law of chastity, or anything that is causing a separation between that person and God. It is our responsibility to help these people understand, through the spirit, that

  1. They are in desperate need of rescuing.
  2. There is a rescuer who will rescue everyone, without exception.
  3. In order to be rescued, they need merely acknowledge that there is a need for a rescuer and follow His directions to the best of their ability.

As missionaries, we need to be so worthy of the spirit that this message can be so clearly conveyed even a child could understand. After that, it is up to the person to accept the spiritual prompting they felt or not. The trick is being sufficiently worthy of the spirit. It is hard. It means exact obedience, and frequent repentance.  I can say without a doubt that this is the hardest thing I have ever done in my life. There are many days when I come very short; but as long as I can continue with faith in the lords timing everything will be alright.

I always blank about the events in the week when I sit down to right. But next week we have a Zone Conference with the mission president. It should be really good. I’ll write all about it. Next p-day could be transfers. I don’t know.

Thank you for all of your prayers and support.

Love, Sister Runyan

Here’s some pictures from Kendall’s companion, Sister Smith’s blog.

Leave a Reply

