I Absolutely Love Portuguese People

Hello Everyone!

This week was interesting.

One of the elders went home today. That made me reflect a lot on my own mission and how I’m already 6 months in. Crazy!!! Actually, this week was kind of a turning point for me. It was a little rough at points; but I’m learning so much about myself and the gospel.

I am so thankful for my amazing companion, Sister Smith, I’ve learned so much from her, it’s insane. We have a lot of fun together, navigating the streets of Gaia (sometimes in the pouring rain).

I’ve decided that I absolutely love Portuguese people. They are hilarious and there are so many times you can’t help but love them.

This week we are kind of breaking up with one of our investigators, José Leite (Zé ), a very interesting guy. He’s 35, Obsessed with MMA, has the mentality of an 18 year old at times. He used to meet up with us all the time; but now he’s super hesitant. We invited him to read the Book of Mormon and to pray about it; but he left his copy with his mom, and he still hasn’t done it. We told him that this was the only way to receive an answer if the things we were telling him are true. I think he might be a little scared to receive an answer.

Fortunately, we found someone else, Bruno. We found him on the street during a division. We invited him to church and he was just like, “ya, I’ll come to church!” Yay! He came.:) We still haven’t taught him yet’ but he has a lot of potential.

There is a member here who sells things. One of his things is called a Bimby. It’s German and apparently, everywhere besides Portugal, it’s called a thermal cooker or something. Any way, it’s pretty cool. He loves to invite us over and show us how it works. There are videos of it on YouTube apparently. He also speaks perfect American English. Sister Smith and I decided he sounds just like Brian Reagan.

Well, love you all.

Sister Runyan

Leave a Reply

